I had this entire post typed out, and lost it. So, fuck it. I am just gonna post the GIFs and the bare essentials:

The Trophy: Frank J. Selke Trophy. It was introduced in 1977 to recognize the best defensive forward. 

The Selections: "The annual winner is selected by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular schedule."

Previous Winners: A year-by-year list of previous winners can be found here. Bob Gainey of the Montreal Canadiens has the most career wins with 4.

2014 Finalists: Details on each player here.

via ExtraSkater.com

Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins.

Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings.

Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks.

The Favorite to Win: Patrice Bergeron.